What is Gelato? Gelato is the Italian word for ice cream, derived from the Latin word “gelatus” ( meaning frozen). Gelato is made up with milk, cream, sugar, eggs, flavoring, fresh fruits,  & nut purees. Gelato hails from Italy, while ice cream is created in the United States the ingredients is milk, sugar, eggs, syrups & additional sweeteners. Gelato is denser than ice cream, because it is churned @ a lower speed and therefore contains less air. Typical gelato contains about 25% air, while ice cream is closer to 50% air. Gelato also contains less fat than ice cream, usually about  7% vs. ice cream 18-20%.

My preference is to use no eggs in my gelato bases, for me it taste too heavy. Back in 2008 when the recession started, I decided to purchased a Cuisinart ice cream machine, ’cause the price of ice cream went up to $4.99 for a 1/2 pint. My Cuisinart ice cream machine, fits perfectly on my kitchen counter which doesn’t take up much space. I have over 2 books on gelato & sorbet and 2 books on ice cream, for the ice cream recipes I improvise and turn them into gelato recipes. Instead of me paying $5.oo for a smoothie @ a juice bar I just take fresh fruit, vanilla gelato, & 1% milk blend it, call it a day & keep it moving.

I’m going to share with two of my favorite gelato recipes in the recipe section of this blog one with eggs and one without eggs, the choice is up to you. Today I made a vanilla gelato base without eggs, in this is recipe I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla bean paste just to kick it up a notch. I like to be creative when I’m making any dessert, sometimes I don’t always follow the recipe.

vanilla gelato

