Tags

These cookies remind me when I used to work at Starbucks Coffee Company back in the late ’90’s years ago as a barista, then becoming a manager. I never knew that this coffee shop ever existed here in NYC. After filling out the application, I told the manager I don’t drink coffee just tea, he just looked at me and smile, little did I realize what I was getting myself into.
I remember during orientation I looked at my trainer with one raised eyebrow, like he was crazy, because I had to sample evey cup of coffee that this company makes. Smelling it is one thing, but I had too slurp the coffee with grounds in it, this helps to spray the coffee across your palate enables the subtle flavors and aromatics to reach your nose. Did I have to swallow it? no you to spit it out in the trash, then you learn how to locate/identify and finally describe the coffee. You should hav seen the look on my face….

As time went on I learn to love coffee, even though I wasn’t a big fan of any espresso based drinks either, but there was one drink I loved to make whether it was hot or cold “Caramel Macchiato.”  Adding syrup, fresh steamed milk and foamed; fresh espresso shots, and topping it off with lots and lots of rich caramel sauce. My best experience at Starbucks was sampling the pastries! I hope you enjoy this recipe it’s made without eggs, it has strong flavors of coffee and chocolate with subtle hints of cinnamon.

mocha 3

Yields: 50 cookies (recipe can be cut in half)

2 cups flour                                                 1 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/2 t. baking powder                                    1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

3/4 t. ground cinnamon                                1 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1/4 t. salt                                                    1/4 cup sugar for dipping

2 1/2 sticks of butter, @ room temp.

3 T. instant espresso powder

or 1/4 cup instant coffee, granules (crushed)

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt, in a bowl, set aside.

2. In a mixing bowl beat together the butter and coffee on medium speed until well combined. Add the confectioners’ sugar and brown sugar. Stop the mixer and scrap the sides of the bowl. Stir in the flour mixture about 1/2 cup at a time, mixing well after each cup. Stir in the chips.

3. Put the granulated sugar in a small shallow bowl. Scoop out about 1 T. with a cookie scooper, flatten the dough slightly into a disk. Dip one side into the sugar, and place that side up on an ungreased cookie sheet. Repeat with remaining dough, spacing them 2″ apart.

4. Bake until the edges begin to darken, 9-12 minutes. Let the cookies cool for 1-2 minutes on the cookie sheet. Transfer them to a cooling rack. It’s best to eat them when there warm not cold.  Bon Apetite!

 

 

 

 

 

