Tags

I don’t know about you, but chocolate is my BFF! Recently I went so this serious commitment to giving up chocolate and to be honest it worked for a while.. To replace my passion I started eating Payday Bars which is pretty good considering I havent’ had one in over ten years. But recently everywhere I turned on the streets of nyc, I finally gave in and made these rich fudge brownies.

These brownies pack so much chocolate you will think that you died and went to Heaven. I felt so guilty of breaking my promise to myself I had a tiny piece…No Seroiusly,  I’ve decided to give the rest away to my friend kids. With these brownies you can cut them into any shape you like, especially if friends drop by at the last-minute, cut the brownies into 2 1/2″  squares, then cut the squares in half diagonally. Drizzle with chocolate or caramel sauce, and then add your favorite toppings: tiny marshmallows, cookie pieces, whipped cream, nuts or whatever your heart desire. I topped mines of with chocolate syrup and Vanilla Gelato with a 1″ fondant heart; use a small ice cream scoop To be honest you really don’t need the frosting but if you want to splurge then go for it.

brownie bites

Fudgy Brownies:

1/2 cup butter

3 oz. unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 t. vanilla

2/3 cup flour

1/4 t. baking soda

1/2 cup nuts (optional)

Batch Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting (optional)

Instructions

1. Using a chef’s knife, coarsely chop chocolate bars or wafers on a cutting board.

2. In a medium saucepan melt the butter and unsweetened chocolate together over low heat with a wooden spoon; stir consistently so it doesn’t burn, set aside to cool.

IMG00962-20130301-0328

3. Heat the oven to 350 F. Line an 8 x 8 x 2″ square baking pan; lightly grease foil. Turn the baking pan upside down. Shape the shiny side down over the outside of the pan, extending the foil about 1″ beyond the edges. (2) carefully lift the shaped foil off the baking pan, taking care to maintain its shape. (3) gently ease the shaped foil into the baking pan, allowing the ends to extend beyond the edges of the pan.

4. After chocolate has cooled, stir in the sugar until dissolved

IMG00963-20130301-0329

5. Add eggs, one at a time, until combined. Stir in vanilla.

     IMG00964-20130301-0330

6.  In a small bowl combine the flour with the baking soda. Add the dry ingredients together to the chocolate mixture; stir until well combined. At this point you can add nuts.

IMG00965-20130301-0332

7. Spread batter evenly in the prepared pan. Bake for 30 minutes. Cool in pan on wire rack.

IMG00967-20130301-0349

Chocolate-Cream Chesse Frosting

1. In a small sauce pan melt 1 cup of semi sweet chocolate pieces over low heat until smooth. Remove from heat; let cool. In a medium bowl stir together two 3 oz. packages, softened cream cheese and 1/2 cup powdered sugar, stir in melted chocolate, beat until smooth.     HAPPY BAKING!

 

 

 

 

 

