Tags

, , , ,

IMG_0829

Hello, today I have very exciting post to share with you. A lot of my ideas comes from magazines, books, nature, and art. One of the best things in Baking is that you can be creative. As I sat in the beauty parlor, on Monday evening under the dryer I was trying to figure out what could I do different this easter. So I did a search on Google and Bing and realize everyone is doing the same thing over and over again, so I got a little bit discouraged.

As I sat there thinking, so I came up with this creative idea “Art Deco Marble Chocolates”. This is a wonderful way to display my creativity; and show everyone how to be creative as well. Instead of me doing dark and milk chocolate I decided to use chocolates in pastel hues: light blue, violet, peach, yellow, pink, and mint. Wilton has a whole variety of chocolate colors you can choose from.

To be honest, I didn’t buy pink and purple candy melts I purchase Wilton Candy Colors. The candy colors is used to add color to white chocolate it comes in two packs of 4 colors each jar is 1/4 oz each. One pack is green, pink, violet, black; the other pack has colors of blue, orange, red, and yellow. All I on hand was white, blue, and key lime. Michaels Arts and Craft Store sells a huge selection of Wilton’s candy melts and more of their products. The chocolate on the left side is colors of key lime, blue and white chocolate, the chocolate on the right is colors of violet, pink, and vanilla. I made this project using a 8 x 2 square pan, yes it can be made  in a larger size pan, if you like you can add chopped nuts, dried fruits, mini marshmallows, cookies, or coconut. O one more thing, you can also add flavoring to your chocolate Lorann Oil, this is super strong, don’t add no more than 1/8 t. – 1/4 t. my favorite oil to use is bubblegum.

You will need:

3 or more packs of Wilton Candy Melts

Measuring cups

Any size square or rectangular baking pan – 8, 9, 10 inch

Wilton Candy Colors, if using

Lorann Oils, if using

Wooden spoons or rubber spatulas

Aluminum foil

Let’s get started:

1. Prepare the pan: Line a baking pan with foil: shiny side up, smooth out the creases. I actually flip the pan over and place the foil on the bottom of the pan, using a scissor I cut off what was needed.

preparing pan

2. Do not chop the chocolate. For all three chocolate use 1/2 cup each, place of the chocolate in three separate microwave-safe bowls. Microwave for 15 seconds, then stir with a rubber spatula. Continue to microwave and stir at 5-second intervals until melted.  Add your flavoring, if using. For the double boiler method checkout the instructions here.

3. Pour the chocolate side by side onto prepared baking pan use a rubber spatula to swirl them together.

IMG_0821

IMG_0822

4. Add your chopped nuts, cookie crumbs, or dry fruits into the chocolate, arranging them so each bite has a mix of flavors and textures. Let the bark harden completely at room temperature, about 1 hour. If your kitchen is warm freeze it for a few minutes. Break into pieces and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 1-3 weeks.

HAPPY DECORATING!

 

 

 

 

 

