Tags

, ,

fall cake

Hello Everyone,

Today’s post is about how to fix a cake disaster when it’s leaning to one side like a leaning tower of Pisa. It’s very frustrating and embarrassing when you have friends coming over or for a last-minute party. In my post Fall Rustic Cake I actually added in 1 tablespoon too much butter, the recipe called for 7 tablespoons of butter. You will learn how adjust the height of the cake and how to make pretty handmade decorations, believe no one will notice.

First, make a batch of your favorite, Vanilla Buttercream. If you never used a pastry bag take a look at my post on Cookie Decorating this post will teach you on how to prepare a disposable bag with a coupler or a coupler is not neccessary to decorate a cake. To make the gum paste daisies take a look at this post, on How To Make Gum Paste Daisies Cupcake Toppers.

Let’s Begin:

Cake                                                         Revolving Cake Stand

Cake Leveler or Tip #12, 789                    Gel Paste Color ( your choice)

Large Angled Spatula                                 Featherweight Bags or Disposable Bags

2013_11_191

1. Photo 1 & 2 (Filling Between Layers)- After slicing the cake, it was extremely soft in this photo I took the best layer and made it my bottom by flipping it over. I didn’t have any cake boards, I placed a piece of wax paper on top of the cake so it wouldn’t stick to the plate underneath. Look on Wilton site, it has a very good tutorial on how to hold a pastry bag. I used tip 12 to pipe a ring of frosting with a medium consistency. Hold the bag steady from the outside edge of the layer. This will help prevent the filling from seeping out.

2. Photo 2 –  After turning over the layer, I piped a circle of icing around the cake layer, and add more icing. I used a large angled spatula to spread out the icing and gently push it from side to side (I apologize, I should have had a photo of icing the cake w/ the first layer). If you prefer within the circle of icing you can add your favorite preserves, pudding, or more icing and place seasonal fresh fruit on top.

3. Photo 3– One of my layers cracked, I gently put it back together for one of the middle layer and kept on icing.

4. Photo 4 – With a large angled spatula place a large amount of icing on the center of the cake top.(As noted in my first post I made 2 8 x 2 cakes). To keep crumbs from showing on the finished surface, I did a crumb coat by adding a small amount of icing to seal in the crumbs.

5. I prefer, to crumb coat my cakes and putting them in refrigerator for 30 minutes. After I take it out add more icing to the top then to the sides. Smooth the sides by holding spatula upright against the side of the cake. Slowly turn the revolving cake stand with the back of the spatula on the cake surface. Return excess icing to the bowl.

6. Smooth the cake top once more. Optional: even it’s not necessary I like to dip my spatula in hot or boiling water, to get a smooth flat surface then place the cake back in the refrigerator.

7. I wanted to wanted achieve a woodland look, I made the cake in a rustic fall look with yellow gum paste daisies, this is a 4-layer cake. This cake was made from a cake box not scratch.

IMG_1153 (1)

In the above photo, I placed the decorations on the left side which was the lop-sided -part of the cake. It’s hard to believe that this cake look lop-sided, huh?

Checkout my post on how to bake a box cake 

HAPPY DECORATING!!!!

